Faculty

The Department of Anthropology is committed to research devoted to the generation and application of anthropological knowledge, perspectives and methods in the service of human problem-solving and decision-making, and support for the practices of anthropology in a variety of professional settings.

The faculty are engaged in a wide variety of teaching and research activities within the traditional subfields in anthropology and their activities fit into one or more of the following areas of concentration: environment, health and heritage.

One of our strengths is each practitioner’s ability to connect to local and international communities through the development of collaborations and partnerships with local stake-holders, NGOs, foreign governments and institutions, as well as local, state and federal government agencies.

Full Time
Brighton, Stephen Tablada Associate Professor & Director of Undergraduate Studies 0132 Woods Hall
(301) 405 3700
sbrighto@umd.edu
Chernela, Janet Professor 1128 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1421
chernela@umd.edu
Downey, Sean Sean Downey Assistant Professor 1106 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1427
sdowney2@umd.edu
Freidenberg, Judith Judith Freidenberg Professor 0101 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1420
jfreiden@umd.edu
Getrich, Christina Getrich Assistant Professor
Hambrecht, George Tablada Assistant Professor 0111 Woods Hall
ghambrec@umd.edu
Lafrenz Samuels, Kathryn Lafrenz Samuels Assistant Professor
Leone, Mark Image of Mark Leone Professor 1108 Woods Hall
(301) 405 8767
mleone@umd.edu
Paolisso, Michael Tablada Professor & Director of Graduate Studies 0131 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1433
mpaoliss@umd.edu
Sangaramoorthy, Thurka Sangaramoorthy Assistant Professor 0109 Woods Hall
tsangara@umd.edu
Shackel, Paul Image of Paul Shackel Professor & Department Chair 1111-C Woods Hall
(301) 405 1425
pshackel@umd.edu
Shaffer, Jen L. Jen Shaffer Assistant Professor 0110 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1441
lshaffe1@umd.edu
Stuart, William Taft Tablada Assistant Professor & Director of Undergraduate Honors Program 0106 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1435
wstuart@umd.edu
Emeritus
Agar, Michael Agar Emeritus magar@umd.edu
Bushrui, Suheil Tablada Emeritus sbushrui@umd.edu
Chambers, Erve Tablada Emeritus 0101 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1439
echamber@umd.edu
Gonzalez, Nancie Emeritus ngonzalez@umd.edu
Jackson, Fatimah Emeritus fatimah@umd.edu
Whitehead, Tony Emeritus 0123 Woods Hall
(301) 405 1419
twhitehe@umd.edu